What It Used To Be Isn’t Always What It’s Going To Be

Hello, my name is Bob.

I once was pristine white snow.  Two crazy ladies came along and decided to turn me into a mutant zombie cheerleader.  My eyes keep falling out, my nose is a half of a cucumber and I have granite rocks for teeth.  Tho I really like to fancy them fangs.

Anyhow.

So I’ve been writing a bunch of blogs that I don’t post.

Anyone who knows me can attest to the fact that I always have something to say, but lately, I find myself wondering “Is this something people really want to hear?”  I try to be witty and make fun of myself but some times, I’m just not there.  Normally when you see no posts from me it’s because I’m just not in the mood to be fun.  Sure there are moments when I force it and it brings about a nifty, short-lived turn around, I can’t do it all of the time.

I had this superiorly cheerful, majorly “Go-Team” post about the Top 10 Things That Were Great About 2010, but it was rather materialistic and shallow.   As I re-read the post, I found myself realizing that if one’s Amazon Prime membership makes it into your Top 10 list of great things, then there is a problem with the price of tea in China.  (Or at the very least your shopping habit, but let’s not go there)

It’s time to get back to basics.  Do a bit of mental housekeeping, see what’s currently in progress and what I need to do next.  On the knitting side of life, I’ve got socks, a sweater, a cowl (don’t ask) and at least two other things floating around.  While the sweater is just going to be an ongoing project, the socks need to get done, and the cowl is close.  Perhaps finishing the cowl will produce some sort of endorphin rush that will make me want to finish the socks.

Then again, maybe not.

On the mental side of the house, I’ve just got to get the heck out of my funk.  Normally not so difficult, but I’m without my usual method of de-funking and so it may be time to explore other options.  I’ve been contemplating skiing, which is something I used to enjoy when I was younger.  Fun, but at this point, still a solitary function.  I’ve adopted an old camera which needs to get some use, but again…  solitary.  I’m living in one of the most beautiful places on the planet, yet I’m not enjoying any of it because I’m just too damned cranky, which translates into me being a hermit.

Mental note to self:  Get up off your ass, go make some friends and enjoy yourself.

Meanwhile, back in the land of non-crankyness, there has been much snowshoeing and snowman building.  Look at these two goof balls.  I need to send this into the NH State Visitor’s Bureau – See how much fun we have here?!?!?!?!?!

What’s not to love about a  place that is a frozen tundra one day and a foggy melty place the next?

3 responses to “What It Used To Be Isn’t Always What It’s Going To Be

