Wednesday Turned Into DIY Day, Somehow!

One thing I am going to miss starting Friday is my free time.  It’s been so nice to be able to wander about each day, allowing my imagination and desires to take me where I want to go.  Admittedly, there were many days when I was so bored I wanted to poke my eye out, but still, it’s been nice to simply go with the flow.  I am so thankful for the last few months.  I’m back in a place that I love, and that’s priceless.

One thing I’ve set about to do in my spare time is to teach myself to bake bread.  Today I took a deep breath, made two trips to the store and got busy with some flat bread.  It’s not perfect, could have used about 5 minutes less in the oven, but it’s so tasty.  The extra crisp bottom was easily overlooked by my adoring fans and I’m pretty pleased.

I did a lot of research on bread making, and the one thing I’d be interested to see is if this would taste differently if I allowed it to proof overnight, instead of the suggested hour and a half.  While the bread was tasty, I think it had a lot to do with the rosemary and olive oil I used.  Overall though, the taste lacked some depth.  One way to create depth in flavor is to allow the yeast to do its thing for a long while.  I’ll definitely make this one again.  It was really easy.  Easy enough to make the night before and then bake when it’s time.  I’m going to tinker with the recipe a bit.  Once I get it the way I like it, I’ll share.

One thing I’ve gotten to do a lot of this winter is take pictures.  The problem with taking pictures in the cold is that your hands take a beating.  My normal gloves are just too thick, and my favorite glove liners from EMS just aren’t heavy enough on their own, but they are the perfect weight of fabric for feeling tiny buttons.  Fingerless gloves over my liners ought to do the trick!  Here’s a sneak peak of what I have so far.

Don’t be afraid, but I’m working this one up from scratch, taking notes as I go.  I’ve been in love with the cable pattern for a while, and finally decided that I needed to just get over my fears and start knitting.  Hell, it’s only string, right?  I might just publish a pattern with this one, even though it’s a pretty simple knit.  I managed to finish up with the gusset increases tonight, and I’m expecting to have glove one done tomorrow.  I’m using Three Irish Girls Finely Merino Fingering for these, in Vintage Zinc.

I’m not too sure what is up with all of this productivity, but I’m going to make it work for me as long as I possibly can!

xo

4 responses to “Wednesday Turned Into DIY Day, Somehow!

